Teaching is Networking.

Over the past few months, I have witnessed a major transformation in myself. Before starting this program, as I contemplated the possibilities for my eventual teaching practice, I was very focused on my teaching practice. My plan was to get through my certification process, get into a classroom, and then do the (subversive) social justice work I want to do. However, I have come to realize that this is not a project that I can, or should, embark on alone, or under the radar. As I continue spending more time in classrooms and schools, build relationships with students and teachers and parents and administrators, I am really starting to realize the practicalities of working in a field where relationships are at the core of this practice. This project is messy! I now think my work must be transparent, justified, and in dialogue with everyone in the networks of individuals that make the process and spaces of education a reality/possibility.

Time to stop being a hermit, isolated within my own classroom, and really build the professional and personal networks that are and will be key to my practice as an educator.

5 thoughts on “Teaching is Networking.

  1. teacherbecoming2013 says:

    Teaching is powerful, in part because of the relationships you form, with students, fellow teachers, and the community. The stronger relationships are, the more power teachers have – and the more good you can do! I don’t think your social justice agenda has to be subversive – I know that is one of the reasons I personally got into education, and I feel like it is a common thread with many teachers.

    • RLT says:

      Agreed! And I realize now how romanticized my vision of my teaching practice was. After studying systematic violence for years, my worldview has become a bit disillusioned, maybe even distorted. There ARE good people doing good work, I DON’T know the answers, we CAN’T do this work without each other. Thanks for your thoughts!

  2. janevangalen says:

    This is a big change … and one I’m glad for because the profession stands to learn a lot with/from/alongside you.

  3. katelizsa says:

    I totally agree with what you are saying, but I struggle with the amount of time I have in a day. I know many of us in our main placements felt like our “breaks” were a time for copying, laminating, cutting, grading, or planning for the next lesson. My room is right across the hall from another cohort member and really I have only had time to say a quick “hello” in passing. How am I supposted to start building relationships and networking with other educators when there is so much to get done every day? I would like to say that this is just because we are all very busy right now with school and learning the ropes of becoming a teacher, but I don’t think that is necessarily the case. I asked my teacher if her and any of the other teachers from our school hang out or talk much outside of class and she looked at me funny and said “No. This school is just so big I really don’t know many of the other teachers.” That made me sad because as a cohort I feel like we have all really connected and we enjoy hanging out with eachother outside of class. I would like that same sort of community feel in the school that I work at, but I was rudely awakened to the fact that this might not be so. So how do we connect with others when it feels as if there is so much to get done? How do we do it when its seems as if the other educators in our school don’t really care about building a professional network?

  4. […] and insightful things. One of the blogs I commented the most on was Learn2Teach4Equity, such as this post about networking. Networking, meeting and collaborating with other educators, is probably the most vital part of […]

Leave a Reply

